Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

New Dynamic Script Ideas

<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3282

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 05 Sep 2013, 06:55

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

@Skypper: You can make a mod to a certain extent: change sprites, change maps, change some house stats, employ dynamic scripts to change gameplay.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Skypper

Knight

Posts: 436

Joined: 28 Jun 2013, 09:37

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Dutch :D

Post 05 Sep 2013, 07:42

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

oke thx
Greets Skypper (Totally Insane)

- Beginning map maker -
<<

thunder

User avatar

Moorbach's Guard

Posts: 1044

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 12:11

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: In the Market

Post 03 Oct 2013, 09:55

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

:)
scripting idea:
-cylinder -there wont be left and right edges
-sphere -there wont be left right and top, bottom edges
MAPS.
As the snake script is working, just with units. And the units should to calculate with the shorter walking way...etc.
What does it need for this?
Okay and need a map also for this.:)
Thanks!
<<

Tef

User avatar

Lance Carrier

Posts: 64

Joined: 15 Apr 2013, 15:12

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 03 Oct 2013, 10:02

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

@ thunder: I don't think that's possible right now. This is because the required information, namely 'desired unit location upon mouse-click' cannot be captured. Hence, you cannot calculate the shortest path, hence you cannot make a unit walk across the edge. Even if you could capture the target location, pathfinding is something you cannot influence through dynamic scripting. Am I saying this all correctly, Lewin / other expert?
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3282

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 03 Oct 2013, 11:58

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

@Thunder: This is doable, but very hard/complicated from programmers point of view.

@Tef: Civilization is an example of how it works - there's a cylindrical world :)
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

WhiteWolf

User avatar

Warrior

Posts: 126

Joined: 05 Jul 2013, 11:07

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Location: The Netherlands

Post 04 Oct 2013, 15:31

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

To continue on the, no edges thing, a friend of mine introduced me to 'Populous 3: the beginning'. A bullfrog made game in 1998. The game is not great (however very fun to LAN) but it uses a planet as map. Maybe somethings could be copied to make a sphere like map ? No idea if that is possible but still, might get some inspiration from it ;P
There is no such thing as innocence only degrees of guilt.
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3282

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 04 Oct 2013, 15:51

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

I enjoyed the Populous 3 game back in its time :)
As almost all of Bullfrogs creations it was superb :)
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

RandomLyrics

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 298

Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 02:15

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 05 Nov 2013, 13:25

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

ErasePlayersTile(x, y: integer) - erase road, vine, plain tile and recovers old natural tile ( like grass or earth).
AddRoad/Vine/Plain(aPlayer, x, y: integer) - add finished road for specific player.
<<

sado1

User avatar

Council Member

Posts: 1430

Joined: 21 May 2012, 19:13

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Nov 2013, 09:27

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

Is there a way in current nightly to check whether a road plan was placed? I can't see anything, the closest to what I want is procedure OnHousePlanPlaced or states Is(Winefield/Field/Road)At, which both won't help me much. I'd like to have either procedure OnRoadPlanPlaced or state IsRoadPlanAt. (Pleeeeeaaase :) )

edit: Also, could you please compile Script Validator and include it each time you make a nightly? Would be much appreciated :)
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3282

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 08 Nov 2013, 12:29

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

@sado1: There will be one, much alike OnHousePlanPlaced which occurs when player has placed a house plan.

Andreus offered to add OnConsoleInput command, which will pass what player has typed in console (e.g. /hidetext to hide text overlays).
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

sado1

User avatar

Council Member

Posts: 1430

Joined: 21 May 2012, 19:13

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 08 Nov 2013, 13:17

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

Andreus offered to add OnConsoleInput command, which will pass what player has typed in console (e.g. /hidetext to hide text overlays).
Oh my god, now that would be mindblowing.
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 09 Nov 2013, 10:08

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

Andreus offered to add OnConsoleInput command, which will pass what player has typed in console (e.g. /hidetext to hide text overlays).
Sounds like a good idea, maybe we can support more complicated interfaces later too :) Make sure Andreus remembers that console commands must be treated like all other user input and sent through the GIP, otherwise it will break replays/multiplayer since the event OnConsoleInput could be used in the script in a way that causes changes to the game state. Also, in multiplayer the event will need to occur on ALL clients (with a parameter for the player index) otherwise it can go out of sync too.
<<

andreus

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 343

Joined: 18 Dec 2011, 12:05

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Website: https://github.com/andreus791/maps_feedback

Location: Russia

Post 09 Nov 2013, 16:16

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

yes, I remember, it should be synchronized between players. would be cool if you implement this idea ;)
<<

RandomLyrics

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 298

Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 02:15

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 15 Nov 2013, 10:02

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

OnConsoleInput
great idea!
event:
OnOrderGroupWalk(aPlayer, aGroup, X, Y: integer) - occurs when player gives group order to walk somewhere
OnOrderGroupAttackGroup(aPlayer, aGroup, aGroupAttacked: integer) - occurs when player gives group order to attack enemy group
OnOrderGroupAttackHouse(aPlayer, aGroup, aHouseAttacked: integer) - same for house
or OnPlayerClick(aPlayer, X, Y: integer) - occurs when player click right mouse button on the ground
<<

RandomLyrics

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 298

Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 02:15

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 21 Nov 2013, 01:11

Re: New Dynamic Script Ideas

hi guys, i have a problem with WareDistribution, im changing ware distribution every 10 minutes for each 6 players, and it isnt working well, dont know why.
  Code:
procedure AIChangeDistributionTactic; var j, k, kl: integer; begin for j:= 0 to MAX_PLAYERS-1 do begin if (States.PlayerEnabled(j)) and (States.PlayerDefeated(j) = false ) then begin if States.HouseDeliveryBlocked(PLAYERS_MAIN_TOWER[j]) = false then begin k:= States.KaMRandomI(6); kl:= States.KaMRandomI(6); if (k = 0) and (kl = 0) then k:=k+1; if (k <= 2) and (kl = 0) then k:=k+1; if (kl <= 2) and (k = 0) then k:=k+1; Actions.PlayerWareDistribution(j, 9, 22, k); //mill Actions.PlayerWareDistribution(j, 9, 16, kl); //pig farm end; end; end; end;
on tick:
  Code:
if ( States.GameTime mod AI_DISTRIBUTION_TACTIC_TIME = 0 ) then begin AIChangeDistributionTactic; end;
photo: Image

i think it only works when ill change it manually for each player. So i think the Action desont work properly.
Last edited by RandomLyrics on 13 Sep 2021, 14:07, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: fixed image

Return to “Ideas / Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest