Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

The Peasants Rebellion - Why doesn't the AI attack?

<<

Litude

King Karolus

Post 23 Nov 2007, 16:53

The Peasants Rebellion - Why doesn't the AI attack?

I admit, I'm no expert at scripting (despite writing a documentation on it :D). This thing I've always been wondering about is why the AI does not attack at all in The Peasants Rebellion campaign? Is the piece of script that normally triggers an attack missing (something like !ATTACK_POSITION or whatever it was called) from all missions in The Peasants Rebellion campaign, or?

It is obvious that the AI has unintentionally been made passive in the campaign. My proof is e.g. the second message that is sent to you on the fourth mission:
"You must, under all circumstances, protect the village in the south from enemy attacks."

Quite an easy task when they never attack, isn't it? :D It would theoretically be possible to remedy the situation, right?
<<

merchant_992

Pikeman

Post 23 Nov 2007, 17:05

Maybe it is just because TPR was a project with way too little time. So they hadn't the time to build in attacks.
And it should be possible to build in attacks. The engine can attack, just look at the TSK campaign.
<<

Litude

King Karolus

Post 23 Nov 2007, 17:07

Yeah, I guess it is so, but you don't happen to know the exact problem? I think !ATTACK_POSITION triggers these attacks and haven't found anything as of yet from TPR campaign, so is this the error?

EDIT:
Hmm, found something interesting:
"!SET_AI_ATTACK TYPE 2
!SET_AI_ATTACK TOTAL_AMOUNT 48
!SET_AI_ATTACK TAKEALL
!SET_AI_ATTACK TARGET 2
!COPY_AI_ATTACK 0"
Could this be the script piece that does not work... :?: Need to do some tests!
<<

merchant_992

Pikeman

Post 23 Nov 2007, 17:31

I am not so good at scripting so I don't know that. If that is the only problem, it would be very careless work of joymania.
<<

Litude

King Karolus

Post 23 Nov 2007, 17:44