Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

Attackers being punished?

<<

JoopFOX

Post 09 Dec 2012, 07:14

Attackers being punished?

Hi guys, I've recently seen/played some games where it seemed the attacker would have the eventual disadvantage, and this resulted in very defensive and boring gameplay. I'm still kind of new to the game, but I was just wondering how this has been discussed and possibly been dealt with in meta?

Thanks!
<<

sado1

Council Member

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 09 Dec 2012, 09:37

Re: Attackers being punished?

Well, it's hard to say. It might be just that the attacker was not clever enough, it always depends on the situation. But yes, in last versions the game has gone a bit more defensive than it was.
<<

ChrisEggII

Sword Fighter

Post 09 Dec 2012, 10:12

A bit? Now this is really defensive game! Many players build as many towers as it possible and wait when someone will attack them.
<<

Da Revolution

Knight

Post 09 Dec 2012, 10:24

Chris you still got rushers, but I guess most people play defensive indeed.
"No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path" - Buddha
<<

Nissarin

Pikeman

KaM Skill Level: Average

Post 09 Dec 2012, 12:22

If you're attacking you must be prepared to have higher loses than your enemy due to him having more time to shoot, positioning (formation vs scattered troops, pathways blocked by buildings), finally towers, longer supply lines. I can't see anything wrong with it nor reason to change it. On the other hand you can use it to your advantage on some maps, you can split your forces and use small army to siege your enemy, blocking him inside while the rest of your troops can help your allies crush the others.