Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

Town hall implementation suggestions

<<

stan423321

Peasant

Post 20 Dec 2012, 00:36

Town hall implementation suggestions

I know that this is not a first priority issue, but a discussion couldn't hurt and this sepcifc thing deserves a thread. I'm absolutely sorry if I'm making up terminology, I'm an amateur player and of Polish version in fact.

How did town hall work like in TPR? You paid with gold to acquire a mercenary. Then he was treated like your average soldier, i.e. you provided food to him. This, if I understand correctly, is considered against spirit of the game because you may get a working army by only producing food and gold.

I have thought for a while about repurposing town hall while not making it something completely different. I ended up with following basic idea: mercenaries require gold all the time, not only at the point of acquiring them, because you are supposed to hire them at critical moments of gameplay and fire them directly afterwards. This naturally caused a cascade of consequences in treating the mercenaries:
  • The mercenary units become more powerful than in original game. This could be implemented differently with different units, of course, and more powerful doesn't necessarily mean just with more powerful stats. We could make up a maneveur or two. Some units could even not need food at all, eating stuff in forest and so.
  • To provide contrast with regular soldiers, payment is delivered to the town hall, not to the mercenaries.
  • Units differ in their "wage", of course.
I expect some of you to detect flaws, possibly major, in this way of dealing with town hall. However it is some starting point for discussion, isn't it?
<<

Bence791

Knight

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 20 Dec 2012, 13:51

Re: Town hall implementation suggestions