Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

Multiplayer map making question

<<

BloodTree

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 27 Oct 2012, 23:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Location: Latvia

Post 12 Nov 2012, 05:24

Multiplayer map making question

I can`t find where i can make locations seen as numbers 1-8 but not only with colors.
And one more thing with camera, when you put start location each location have viewpoint but it don`t work for me, each time when i launch at random location camera is in same with each players location. So how can make that camera starts at right place at each multiplayer start location?
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 12 Nov 2012, 09:00

Re: Multiplayer map making question

The map locations in the lobby are taken from the "center screen" command, which also places the players "camera" (viewport) at the start of the game. In the script the command is called !CENTER_SCREEN, and in my editor it's under the treeview for each player if you're using my editor in multiplayer mode. Unfortunately if you're making a map with more than 6 players you can't use my editor in multiplayer mode (since it's a KaM editor and KaM doesn't support more than 6P in multiplayer) so you need to edit the script by hand using version 0.3 of my editor. Unfortunately every time you save the map with the latest version of my editor it will lose the center screen commands because the players are treated as AIs. So basically if you're making a map with more than 6 players, add the !CENTER_SCREEN commands to each player's section of the script using version 0.3 of my editor when you've finished working on the map so you don't lose anything. Sorry it's difficult :P

Let me know if you need any further help :)
Lewin.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 3814

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: California - Pacific Time (UTC -8/-7 Summer Time)

Post 13 Nov 2012, 01:37

Re: Multiplayer map making question

So if I load a script for a multiplayer Remake mission with version 0.3 of your editor, will there be any unfavorable changes in the script upon loading? (E.g., will your editor remove any unknown code etc.)

It's been so long since I made a multiplayer mission, I forgot :D
I used to spam this forum so much...
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 13 Nov 2012, 04:31

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Version 0.3 will not change anything, it loads the raw script and lets you edit it. Version 0.9 will load and interpret this script, and throw away any stuff it doesn't understand. So if you have a singleplayer mission and put !CENTER_SCREEN for all of the AI players (this is what you have to do to make 8 player multiplayer maps) then version 0.9 of my editor will throw away that information because it only understands !CENTER_SCREEN for the human player.
<<

BloodTree

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 27 Oct 2012, 23:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Location: Latvia

Post 13 Nov 2012, 18:11

Re: Multiplayer map making question

It worked thanks for help.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 3814

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: California - Pacific Time (UTC -8/-7 Summer Time)

Post 13 Nov 2012, 18:14

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Does KaM care about what order the commands are in as long as they are within the players set of code? I.e., can I put the !CENTER_SCREEN command anywhere I want?
I used to spam this forum so much...
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3280

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 13 Nov 2012, 18:28

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Yes, as long as it is below Players declaration and before next player. Same way Troop_Hunger command works for the last declared troop, even if thats screens away.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Ben

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 3814

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: California - Pacific Time (UTC -8/-7 Summer Time)

Post 13 Nov 2012, 18:30

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Is there a place on the forum where I can find a full list of commands added to the Remake and how they are used?
I used to spam this forum so much...
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 14 Nov 2012, 02:43

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Here you go:
!ADD_WARE_TO <HOUSE_TYPE_ID> <HOUSE_NUMBER> <WARE_ID> <QUANTITY>
Example:
!ADD_WARE_TO 17 3 1 5 - Adds 5 stone to the 3rd watchtower (in order they are placed in the script)

!BLOCK_TRADE <WARE_ID>
Example:
!BLOCK_TRADE 8 - Blocks trading wine

!SET_AI_CHARACTER EQUIP_RATE <TICKS>
Example:
!SET_AI_CHARACTER EQUIP_RATE 150 - AI will attempt to train 1 soldier every 15 seconds (150 game ticks). If you do not specify this command, the default (in KaM TSK/TPR too) is every 100 seconds (1000 ticks).
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3280

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Location: Russia

Post 14 Nov 2012, 06:10

Re: Multiplayer map making question

I suggest to keep this list here, at googleCode wiki: http://code.google.com/p/castlesand/wiki/ScriptCommands
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 14 Nov 2012, 09:00

Re: Multiplayer map making question

I suggest to keep this list here, at googleCode wiki: http://code.google.com/p/castlesand/wiki/ScriptCommands
Good idea :)
<<

Ben

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 3814

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: California - Pacific Time (UTC -8/-7 Summer Time)

Post 14 Nov 2012, 14:29

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Is the BLOCK_TRADE command global or local to the player it was assigned in?
I used to spam this forum so much...
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 14 Nov 2012, 15:25

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Is the BLOCK_TRADE command global or local to the player it was assigned in?
Good question. Just to the current player.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 3814

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: California - Pacific Time (UTC -8/-7 Summer Time)

Post 14 Nov 2012, 16:07

Re: Multiplayer map making question

Great! Thank you Krom and Lewin! :)

Before the Remake got huge, I started working on a prequel to my campaign "For King and Country." (even though For King and Country really needs work)
It was going great. but I have up because no one seems to play TPR anymore. I believe that I will edit this campaign and make it for the Remake. I can do a good job, I promise. Perhaps you would like to include it in the Remake someday.

I was thinking about just editing For King and Country to suit the Remake, but I'd rather keep going forward and augmenting my skills with more practice. I got better at map-making as I progressed through that campaign (which is easy to see if you compare mission 1-5 to 13-14). I am curious to see how much better I can get, espically with the new Remake commands!
I used to spam this forum so much...
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3822

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

ICQ: 269127056

Website: http://lewin.hodgman.id.au

Yahoo Messenger: lewinlewinhodgman

Location: Australia

Post 15 Nov 2012, 02:42

Re: Multiplayer map making question

We'd love to include your campaign(s) in the Remake :) You can even make a map then place flags/dots like the original game using the CampaignBuilder tool in your KaM Remake folder.

Return to “Map Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 11 guests