Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Login

Mission files document released!

<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1233

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Website: http://www.knightsandmerchants.net

Location: Finland

Post 27 Nov 2006, 20:40

I've been recently working on version 1.0 of the guide. I doubt much new commands will be covered (certainly not the AI), but it will be a lot easier to understand. Also for the AI thing. If someone feels that they have a lot of free time feel free to take a shot at checking out what those different commands/values do.
<<

olegasole

Knight

Posts: 418

Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 22:00

Website: http://olegaasole.wetpaint.com/

Location: Canada, Toronto, Ontario

Post 30 Dec 2006, 17:20

where to you get the proper program to experiment with this?
<<

Merchator

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 30 Dec 2006, 17:35

where to you get the proper program to experiment with this?
U mean a hex-editor?
I would prefer Hex-Workshop, but its 30 Day-Trial-Time, then u have to buy!

@ real hotdog:
Thank u for posting this guide! I know, its not legal (game hackin) , but there is no editor, and so have everybody to script his own maps.
I say thanks to free_sms_km , too for decoding all this .dat-files.

I dunno, why its illegal:
JoyMania isn't interested in the game any time more. So why we cant edit so files?
I will wait for V1.0 of the guide, because i dont understand some things with the AI. But the rest is very simple!

mfG,
roTahCreM
<<

olegasole

Knight

Posts: 418

Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 22:00

Website: http://olegaasole.wetpaint.com/

Location: Canada, Toronto, Ontario

Post 30 Dec 2006, 17:36

a hex edito rcool
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1233

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Website: http://www.knightsandmerchants.net

Location: Finland

Post 30 Dec 2006, 22:11

I'm sorry roTahCreM, but the next version will not cover the AI, as I don't understand it either :(.
<<

Merchator

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 30 Dec 2006, 22:19

Im going to find it out.

Thinks i dunno:
!SET_AI_DEFENSE 64 46 0 1 30 0
The first is x Coordinate, the second y, the third is the facing direction, in which the soldiers are looking. The rest is unknown for me.

!SET_AI_ATTACK_TYP 1
!SET_ATTACK_AMOUNT 1 5
...
I dont undertand this completly!

The rest is not as hard as this, but also difficult!
<<

olegasole

Knight

Posts: 418

Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 22:00

Website: http://olegaasole.wetpaint.com/

Location: Canada, Toronto, Ontario

Post 30 Dec 2006, 22:21

wow nice job :D
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1233

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Website: http://www.knightsandmerchants.net

Location: Finland

Post 30 Dec 2006, 22:23

Good luck on figuring that one out, it's a quite good start.

I did not know that you were supposed to put an AI for each soldier troop, I thought it was something you put onto the whole team. Keep trying an you'll find out what all the values do!
<<

olegasole

Knight

Posts: 418

Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 22:00

Website: http://olegaasole.wetpaint.com/

Location: Canada, Toronto, Ontario

Post 30 Dec 2006, 22:25

yeah good start
<<

Merchator

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 31 Dec 2006, 11:37

Okay, i will post everything i know about the AI ! :D
  Code:
!SET_CURR_PLAYER 3 !ENABLE_PLAYER 3 !SET_AI_PLAYER !SET_AI_START_POSITION 29 25 !SET_AI_NO_BUILD[/quote] SET_CURR_PLAYER says the script, which player u are going to edit. But if u add one more player, u must change the number at the top of the script. E.G., if there are 4 players, and u want to add a 5th u have to change following: [code]!SET_MAX_PLAYER   4[/quote] to [code]!SET_MAX_PLAYER   5[/quote] !ENABLE_PLAYER in our example is 3, but it can also be 5, 6, 7 ,8... !SET_AI_PLAYER is very important! It tells the script that this is not a human-player. So if u want to script a bot, u have to add this! !SET_AI_START_POSITION tells, where the AI-Player starts. It would be the best if u take an x and y coordinate near the village! !SET_AI_NO_BUILD says, that the Ai shouldn't build! But if u want that he were building u have to write !SET_AI_BUILD, but remember, if he have already a school-house, he build another one, too. [code]!SET_AI_CHARACTER RECRUT_COUNT 40000 !SET_AI_CHARACTER CONSTRUCTORS 0 !SET_AI_CHARACTER WORKER_FACTOR   7 !SET_AI_CHARACTER TOWN_DEFENSE 50[/quote] !SET_AI_CHARACTER RECRUT_COUNT tells the game how much recruits the AI-player should create. !SET_AI_CHARACTER CONSTRUCTORS here im not shure but i think its a "town-type"... u can write 0-9! !SET_AI_CHARACTER WORKER_FACTOR tells the came the AI-Activity. !SET_AI_CHARACTER TOWN_DEFENSE should be at 100, so they defend their town very good. If its 50, they are very weak and play stupid...i dunno. [code]!SET_AI_CHARACTER TROUP_PARAM 0 12 4 !SET_AI_CHARACTER TROUP_PARAM 1 12 4 !SET_AI_CHARACTER TROUP_PARAM 2 12 4 !SET_AI_CHARACTER TROUP_PARAM 3 12 4[/quote] This tells the game how the groups have to stay! The first number tells which groups of soldiers ( [color=orange]0 Axefighter/Militia/warrior/swordfighter/Babarians[/color] [color=cyan]1 Pikemans/ Lancecarriers/ Rebbels[/color] [color=orange]2 Archers/Crossbowmans/thiefs[/color] [color=cyan]3 Knights/ leather-knights / vagabunds[/color] ) The second one tells how many soldiers it should been and the last says how many rows they should have! [code]!SET_ALLIANCE 2 1 !SET_ALLIANCE 3 1 !SET_ALLIANCE 5 1[/quote] If u want to get "friends" u have to use this. If some other player should be ur friend write at him !SET_ALLIANCE 0 1. Now can u anttack him and he cant! The first number tells the "player", the second swich it on/off^^ [code]!SET_AI_DEFENSE 46 33 3 1 30 0 !SET_AI_DEFENSE 46 44 1 1 30 0 !SET_AI_DEFENSE 38 37 2 2 30 0 !SET_AI_DEFENSE 43 37 2 0 30 0[/quote] Tells the game where the enemy should defend his town. The first number tells the x, the second the y coordinate. The third tells the face direction, the fourth the "group" (look above this) and the last 2 i dont know. So, if an enemy make leather and iron-armors, he has both in his group ( e.g. axefighters and swordsmen! [code]!SET_ATTACK 50 56 !SET_ATTACK 55 62[/quote] Tells an enemy where he should attack (after start the round) Must look like follow: !SET_GROUP 16 50 40 3 4 12 !SET_ATTACK 50 36 // remember they can ONLY attack houses, no troups! There are some more thinks i know, but i know not enough about them...so wait and stay cool 8)
<<

Hitandrun

Lance Carrier

Posts: 68

Joined: 25 Nov 2006, 23:00

Location: England, st helens

Post 31 Dec 2006, 12:56

!SET_AI_CHARACTER CONSTRUCTORS here im not shure but i think its a "town-type"... u can write 0-9!


surley that is the number of labourers the computer should have / produce
<<

Hitandrun

Lance Carrier

Posts: 68

Joined: 25 Nov 2006, 23:00

Location: England, st helens

Post 31 Dec 2006, 13:02

SET_AI_CHARACTER TOWN_DEFENSE should be at 100, so they defend their town very good. If its 50, they are very weak and play stupid...i dunno.

yep reakon 50 means that they will not move to defend their buildings .

"surley that is the number of labourers the computer should have / produce" or probably start with.
<<

Merchator

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 31 Dec 2006, 13:09

No, not "start with".
They have no more than 9 labores then!

If they should start with 9 laborers, u have to write
!SET_UNIT(_BY_STOCK) 9

it could be even more!
But u are right :D
<<

Hitandrun

Lance Carrier

Posts: 68

Joined: 25 Nov 2006, 23:00

Location: England, st helens

Post 31 Dec 2006, 13:11

Code:
!SET_AI_DEFENSE 46 33 3 1 30 0
!SET_AI_DEFENSE 46 44 1 1 30 0
!SET_AI_DEFENSE 38 37 2 2 30 0
!SET_AI_DEFENSE 43 37 2 0 30 0


Tells the game where the enemy should defend his town.

"The first number tells the x, the second the y coordinate. The third tells the face direction, the fourth the "group" (look above this) and the last 2 i dont know. "

I think the 5th number is importance i.e. in what priority should troups be created here, posted or move to this location i.e. with a higher number the computer will move troups here 1st if the army is destroyed so someone is always guarding a ocation but then again thats a guess
<<

Hitandrun

Lance Carrier

Posts: 68

Joined: 25 Nov 2006, 23:00

Location: England, st helens

Post 31 Dec 2006, 13:14

No, not "start with".
They have no more than 9 labores then!

If they should start with 9 laborers, u have to write
!SET_UNIT(_BY_STOCK) 9

it could be even more!
But u are right :D
maybe but iv never seen a computer opponent with more than nine labourers it could be simply a cap.

Return to “Map Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests