Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

Fisherman

<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 28 Jan 2009, 03:00

Fisherman

I love fishing,


and I was so happy to see that you could make fisheramn in the game!
However, there is soemthing stupid about fishing in the game. Fish run out. very dumb. STUPID! Not even real. You don't jsut go off and fish every fish in the sea!

So I was thinking. It take about 40 minutes to get to the point of starvation in this game, (tested in TPR 11 [all fighting mission]) so lets say it took 30 minutes fora fisherman to get his catch. (assuming it was 5 more minutes intill he was hungry) That way fishing wouls only be productive if you had a lot of them, whcih would be good. Also, Fish would never run out, that way you always have fish to feed to your people, you could also have a large fishing village! It would be great! Also, you could make a fishing mission in the game, where fish was vital for survival! It would be nice huh? PErhaps the fish would go back to decorations like they were in the original game, or for every - lets say 20 fish in the sea you could take 1 mintute off the time it takes to catch one. (or two if it was kept that way)
Please give it a thought.
#thunderposting #greentornado
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 28 Jan 2009, 04:09

Ignoring the fact that THIS CAN'T BE DONE WITHOUT THE SOURCE CODE, I don't think it's a good idea for SR3.

It would be good for a mod though.
However, you would need to make sure that fish would not become a super easy source of food. They should either run out or be slow to catch.
Lewin.
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1231

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Finland

Post 28 Jan 2009, 09:10

Yeah, if we had the source code this idea could be reconsidered. I think it could be made quite balanced if the fisherman was given a longer delay when fishing, but as said, no chance without the source code :(.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 01 Feb 2009, 03:42

Well how did SR2 do it? (make fisherman wait longer)
#thunderposting #greentornado
<<

kuba11100

Sword Fighter

Posts: 286

Joined: 16 Jul 2008, 22:00

Location: Poland

Post 01 Feb 2009, 10:20

In unit.dat - it's possible to change with Merchator's editor.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 03 Feb 2009, 05:30

THIS CAN'T BE DONE WITHOUT THE SOURCE CODE


In unit.dat - it's possible to change with Merchator's editor.


So it is possible?
#thunderposting #greentornado
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 03 Feb 2009, 08:12

With Merchator's editor it is possible to change:
- The number of fish caught each time the fisherman goes fishing
- The time taken catching the fish
- The time taken waiting at the hut before he goes fishing again.

But you can't change stuff like making fish never run out or making fish respawn automatically.
So part of your idea can be done, but not enough to make it really work.
Lewin.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 04 Feb 2009, 03:51

Oh I see, that is what I ment, but that does not change the fact that this cannot be done wthout the sorce code.
#thunderposting #greentornado
<<

CuDi

User avatar

Scout

Posts: 130

Joined: 05 Aug 2009, 22:00

Location: Ohio, United States

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 25 Apr 2010, 01:36

I actually might be able to get the source code, No lie I know some people that are good with that kind of stuff.
Image
(BarbariansRule)
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 25 Apr 2010, 02:05

BarbariansRule wrote:I actually might be able to get the source code, No lie I know some people that are good with that kind of stuff.

I'm not sure what you or your friends have in mind but if you can get us a copy of the source code or even just a well organised decompiled version from the EXE, it would be much appreciated. Even if we can't get it to compile it would still be useful to see how the game files are encoded to help with tools and remakes.
<<

Michieru

User avatar

Recruit

Posts: 30

Joined: 20 Sep 2008, 22:00

Location: Germany

KaM Skill Level: Average

Post 25 Apr 2010, 10:42

Fisherman

Is it possible to feed soldiers with fish?

Soldiers get wine, sausage and bread but no fish...

Is it possible to realize that without the source code?
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1231

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Finland

Post 25 Apr 2010, 16:01

It has been tried but no luck so far, so don't get your hopes up.
<<

batoonike

Warrior

Posts: 111

Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 22:00

Post 26 Apr 2010, 12:53

"With Merchator's editor it is possible to change:
- The number of fish caught each time the fisherman goes fishing
- The time taken catching the fish
- The time taken waiting at the hut before he goes fishing again. "

If he catches 24 fishes, will still only 1 fish be removed from the lake? If its so, he could cathc like 5 fishes each trip and the delays should be adjusted accordingly, to make it balanced. And then make delays a bit longer, to avoid the "superfood efect". Like the fish doesnt have to be infite but it could be available much longer.
<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 19 Aug 2010, 00:16

If he catches 24 fishes, will still only 1 fish be removed from the lake? If its so, he could cathc like 5 fishes each trip and the delays should be adjusted accordingly, to make it balanced. And then make delays a bit longer, to avoid the "superfood efect". Like the fish doesnt have to be infite but it could be available much longer.


In SR2 this was changed by making the fisherman get 2 fish for every trip (instead of just 1). This was nice considering if someone goes fishing for food -- not sport -- they usually not stop till they get at least 4 or 5, depending on the size of the fish.

I see what you mean, though. Yet, 27 fish would be WAY to much. He'd have to wait so long, it be worth just destroying the hut and making a new one (thus, allowing you to get a LOT of fish really easily).

After some consideration, I think that my idea (fist post on this thread) is better for a mod, but I think that SR3 should increase the size of the catch to three and make him wait longer, then I'd be content.
#thunderposting #greentornado
<<

Michieru

User avatar

Recruit

Posts: 30

Joined: 20 Sep 2008, 22:00

Location: Germany

KaM Skill Level: Average

Post 02 Jan 2011, 00:22

There is one more bug with the fisherman!

If u ran out of fish, the fisherman won't stop fishing and u won't get any message, that there isn't any fish left.

Can this be fixed with SR3? Or need we again the damn source code?
Next

Return to 1.60 Patch (Service Release 3)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests