Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

<<

Sir Sheffield

Peasant

Posts: 4

Joined: 30 Jul 2012, 20:06

Post 30 Jul 2012, 21:02

Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Dear Sir's

To wallow in memories I just bought TPR on amazon, because my original TSK from 1998 doesn't run under my actual system. After installing TPR from DVD (V1.58 SR2) I tried to patch it with Service Release 3 but that fails with the error message: TPR isn't installed on your system or in an other language than german. By the way the ordered TPR is the german version.
The DVD the postman brought seems pretty new "Knights and Merchants The Shattered Kingdom & The Peasants Rebellion ED. 2012" labeled with "replaynow.topware.com". Also KaM Fan Remake is on this DVD so I guess it's fresh from the press. That's why I started a new topic, because it seems to be a new problem... and I just wanted to play a bugfree TSK campain ;)

It would be gerat, if somebody could give me a hint what's going wrong.
Hopefully, Sir Sheffield

PS: Das Setup hat ermittelt, dass Knights and Merchants: The Peasants Rebellion auf Ihrem System nicht installiert ist oder in einer anderen Sprache als Deutsch. Die Installation wird abgebrochen
<<

T*AnTi-V!RuZz

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 1832

Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 23:00

Location: The Netherlands

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 30 Jul 2012, 22:14

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Sir Sheffield wrote:Also KaM Fan Remake is on this DVD so I guess it's fresh from the press.

The real one? Made by Krom and Lewin? :O
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2152

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 30 Jul 2012, 22:20

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

...What?
This must be a troll.
<<

Sir Sheffield

Peasant

Posts: 4

Joined: 30 Jul 2012, 20:06

Post 30 Jul 2012, 22:47

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

For all those, who don't believe: r3392 is on the DVD
Image

And the disclaimer before installing it:
******************************************************************************
********* Information to the KaM Fan Remake *********
******************************************************************************

CAUTION: This Knights and Merchants Fan Remake is a freeware mod, which has
been developed by fans and the community.


TopWare Interactive, Karlsruhe, Germany, provides no guarantee that this
Knights and Merchants version is complete, and/or valid, and/or accurate.
TopWare Interactive AG, Karlsruhe, Germany neither provides a guarantee, nor
accepts any legal responsibility, nor accepts any form of liability for the use
of this version, for its profitability or for its error-free function in
relation to any specific purpose. The TopWare Interactive AG accepts no legal
responsibility or any other form of liability for damages of any kind caused
by the usage of this version. Further, TopWare Interactive shall neither be held
liable for damages resulting from any malfunction of program, nor for any
resulting infringement of patent and other third party rights.

The Knights and Merchants Fan Remake requires an installed version of
Knights and Merchants - The Peasants Rebellion.

This version is not supported by TopWare Interactive.

For Updates to this version, please visit

http://www.kamremake.com/
<<

Shadaoe

Knight

Posts: 584

Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 22:00

Post 31 Jul 2012, 00:47

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

That's the way to glory :o
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 31 Jul 2012, 02:06

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Wow thanks for breaking the news! If you look at this version on their shop you will see in the top right of the screenshot it says "ED. 2012". They're certainly not advertising the fact that it includes the Remake on the box/website...

As for why SR3 doesn't work, I'd take a guess that Topware neglected to set the "language" registry key, (someone mentioned this before) so the SR3 installer doesn't know which language you have. (it checks this because patching the wrong language can cause problems) I'll tell Litude about it, hopefully he can make the installer work with this version too.

Another possibility is that the version you have is in English not German, but I doubt that would be the case seeing as the CD/installer in the screenshot you posted is in German. Is the text of TPR in German when you run it?
Cheers,
Lewin.
<<

Shadaoe

Knight

Posts: 584

Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 22:00

Post 31 Jul 2012, 03:20

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Offtopic : On their website, the description of KaM TPR is in french if we select the french language, but does someone know if they sell it in french ? I can't find any info about the language, and I'd like to own TPR in french ;)
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2152

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 31 Jul 2012, 08:33

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

:O
Oh well, I guess it's fine as long as they don't mention KaM Remake in the description, otherwise they'd literally be selling your work.
<<

T*AnTi-V!RuZz

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 1832

Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 23:00

Location: The Netherlands

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 31 Jul 2012, 09:21

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

The Dark Lord wrote::O
Oh well, I guess it's fine as long as they don't mention KaM Remake in the description, otherwise they'd literally be selling your work.

This is an interesting situation. What if they did mention KaM Remake? Lewin and Krom can't really do something about it, since they are using original KaM sources that were made by the official developers..
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2152

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 31 Jul 2012, 09:29

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Indeed, as far as I know they can't do anything about it. It's still very impolite to add Remake to their product without letting Lewin and Krom know. Apparantly they have been following kamremake.com or even this forum so I think they know who made Remake...
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3237

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 31 Jul 2012, 11:19

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

It is quite complicated, but there are several facts:

~95% of all graphical/sound/music/voices assets used are intellectual property (IP) by Zuxxez and its partners.
~5% of assets IP belongs to our contributors and provided to us free of charge for non-commercial use (StarGazer, Malin, Translators, Mapmakers).
~98% of KaM Remake codebase is our IP (the rest ~2% are from codewriters who helped us and vanished).
Remake also uses some libraries which are free-to-use only for non-commercial projects.

That means we can't distribute KaM Remake with IP assets, that is why we require players to have original TPR to install Remake on top of it.
On the other hand Zuxxez has no right to make revenue from our IP without our permission, thats why they don't mention Remake anywhere.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Sir Sheffield

Peasant

Posts: 4

Joined: 30 Jul 2012, 20:06

Post 31 Jul 2012, 18:00

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Dear Sir Lewin,

the German version of TPR is installed. I had to choose between 9 languages (from Svenska downwards Europe to Portugues) at the early stages of the installation routine. Also Francais is selectable - Mr. Shadaoe asked for it.
To avoid misunderstandings I've uploaded the proper KaM-entry from the registry:
Image



Tsar Krom,

as gathered, your lifework isn't mentioned in the manual nor the jewel case. But it's evidently, that Topware takes a liking on your intellectual property, so it is maybe an advantageous moment to ask them: "Like more - sourcecode please" ;)

Yours sincerely
Sir Sheffield
Last edited by Sir Sheffield on 31 Jul 2012, 19:23, edited 1 time in total.
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2152

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 31 Jul 2012, 19:23

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Wait a second - 9 languages? Does that mean they also included translations made by fans...?
I think this would be an appropriate moment for Topware to give an official reaction. They pretend like nothing happens but they are obviously watching us.
<<

Shadaoe

Knight

Posts: 584

Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 22:00

Post 31 Jul 2012, 19:40

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Sir Sheffield wrote:Also Francais is selectable - Mr. Shadaoe asked for it.

Thanks a lot for telling me that, I think I'm going to buy it, and spread the word about this french version, so the french players can buy this instead of the gog version to install the remake if they want a proper french TPR.
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 01 Aug 2012, 00:36

Re: Installation fails with KaM ED. 2012

Sir Sheffield wrote:the German version of TPR is installed. I had to choose between 9 languages (from Svenska downwards Europe to Portugues) at the early stages of the installation routine. Also Francais is selectable - Mr. Shadaoe asked for it.
To avoid misunderstandings I've uploaded the proper KaM-entry from the registry:
Image

Are you sure that's the TPR installer and not the Remake? As far as I know there has never been a Portuguese version of TPR, only the KaM Remake and I would be quite surprised if they copied our translations (since we recently changed to our own custom format anyway)

Thanks for the registry entries, it looks like they did set the language, so I'm not sure why SR3 won't install. No doubt Litude will be able to sort it out before the official release of SR3. (it's just a release candidate at the moment)
Next

Return to 1.60 Patch (Service Release 3)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron