Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

Scripting demo release candidate

<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Apr 2013, 08:48

Scripting demo release candidate

We're getting ready for another KaM Remake update :) Read more here:
http://www.kamremake.com/2013/04/coming ... ting-demo/

I just sent off the release candidate to our beta tester mailing list. If you would like to help test the release candidate send us your email address and we'll add you to the list.

Please use this topic to discuss the release candidate, give feedback and report bugs. You can also email us directly at contact@kamremake.com

Happy RC testing!
Lewin and Krom.
<<

Remake 2012

Knight

Posts: 449

Joined: 28 Jan 2012, 08:17

Location: Poland

KaM Skill Level: Average

Post 06 Apr 2013, 09:18

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Bug 1

White pole in left
Image
<<

Lewin

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3821

Joined: 16 Sep 2007, 22:00

Location: Australia

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Apr 2013, 09:31

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Remake 2012 wrote:Bug 1

White pole in left
Image

That's not a bug, it's part of the "3D" effect. You'll notice there's a dark pole on the right as well.
<<

Remake 2012

Knight

Posts: 449

Joined: 28 Jan 2012, 08:17

Location: Poland

KaM Skill Level: Average

Post 06 Apr 2013, 09:33

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

OK next...
Image

My scout attack enemy... and enemy scout .. do nothing ! (single player, map acros desert)

Image

Cut subtitles. Illegible font too.
<<

Ravior

Recruit

Posts: 30

Joined: 03 Apr 2013, 12:07

Post 06 Apr 2013, 09:51

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Great that the new version is out :)

I'm trying out the map editor now, this evening I'm having a look into the multiplayer part.

So far I recognized the following (And Ive also a few questions):

1: When you create a new map having "Singleplayer maps" selected you can only place buildings for one player, when you select "Player 2" and try to place houses for him, everywhere I try to place a house, its just red crosses. Only when saving the map as multiplayer-map, then closing and loading it again in the map editor, I could build houses for the other players too.

2: Its great that brushes are in the editor now! But I miss the magic water :)

3: Also the editor has been updated greatly. But I think a documentation is needed. But as far as I can see it: Are players fully able to create coop maps with this editor now?

4: What about the AI? Im just running a test with one of them, but would like to know what outcome should be expected. Should they work fully now (building army and attacking if an attack point and such has been set)?

Greetings,

Ravior
<<

Thorakh

Recruit

Posts: 31

Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 23:00

Post 06 Apr 2013, 10:00

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

I can't thank you enough for recreating the first computergame I ever played. Oh the hours I spent waiting for my dad to come home so he would turn on his laptop and let me play for an hour!

Other than most people on these forums I'm not really interested in the multiplayer, but in single player instead. I cannot wait for the new map editor (given that I've used both other editors in conjunction before, needless to say, it was cumbersome ^^) and dynamic scripting should open up so many possibilities for interesting maps.
<<

Ravior

Recruit

Posts: 30

Joined: 03 Apr 2013, 12:07

Post 06 Apr 2013, 10:04

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Good that you brought it up. Is there an article about "Dynamic Scripting" which also explains what the term "Dynamic" is for?

And yes, I also think theyre awesome :) (The devs who started this) :)
<<

pawel95

User avatar

Castle Guard Swordsman

Posts: 1911

Joined: 03 Oct 2008, 22:00

Location: "Pawel95" on Youtube.com

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Apr 2013, 11:06

KaM Remake Release Candidate r5057 Bugs topic

Hey just started the new RC. Its Great :D

However first 3 things:

*You start a mission in TPR and you get everytime one empty message with this "corn sign"
*You get an "hole" when from the message box, isnt it possible to stratch the box to have no hole :lol: like in MP chat box.

*I tested TPR 07(this mission were the AI made big troubles) and I must say: Really good improvement. I´m not sure if it is still randomly that sometimes both groups attack at the same time and still 1 lance group of green doesn´t attack.
However really really big improvement (H) :wink:

KaM_Remake 2013-04-06 13-03-45-34.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

pawel95

User avatar

Castle Guard Swordsman

Posts: 1911

Joined: 03 Oct 2008, 22:00

Location: "Pawel95" on Youtube.com

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Apr 2013, 13:02

Re: Official KaM Remake Bugs topic

Or what about just that this message appears when at your list is just an entry, not that empty in whole game :D
Or about a switching button in settings to switch back to old system?


And the problem at this hole is that it looks like a hole but you cant place a road tile or sth imliar threw this hole :mrgreen:


Next thing>

You cannot set locations for AI players on tactic maps for example= Only random locations. (When no other human player is in room)


EDIT: Ok, it looks like you cannot set loc for only some certain maps, like "Bannockburn".
<<

Siegfried

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 494

Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 22:00

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:01

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Bugs noticed so far:
- Arrow keys don't work for me on the lobby
- the team connection inside the map preview is buggy (pawel will provide a screenshot any moment)

And I saw a crash the the first startup. A crash report was sent.
<<

Bence791

Knight

Posts: 618

Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 20:25

Location: Hungary

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:02

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

The game crashes continuously... This is the main problem.

The other I noticed is that archers became superslow and lost their value imo.. they just don't obey your orders because of reloading and stay in their positions, and mainly they die after it (arrows, attacking enemy or towers)... This is not good :x
The Kamper is always taking my colour!

<<

pawel95

User avatar

Castle Guard Swordsman

Posts: 1911

Joined: 03 Oct 2008, 22:00

Location: "Pawel95" on Youtube.com

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:04

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Bence791 wrote:The other I noticed is that archers became superslow and lost their value imo.. they just don't obey your orders because of reloading and stay in their positions, and mainly they die after it (arrows, attacking enemy or towers)... This is not good :x


Well this isn´t a bug, i think. Its just not a brilliant idea to fix the "cheating" with fast destroying of towers. So maybe we should think about an other idea to fix this "cheat", because you are right that you cannot attack with bowmen correctly and secure, espacialy when somewhere a Knight is waiting for them :D
<<

Krom

User avatar

Knights Province Developer

Posts: 3237

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:34

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Thanks everyone for reports! :)

"My scout attack enemy... and enemy scout .. do nothing ! (single player, map acros desert)"
- Single couts are idle for all autobuild AIs. AIs will employ only footmen and archers (no pikemen and no horsemen)

"Cut subtitles. Illegible font too."
- Will be fixed when we have shorter information messages

"When you create a new map having "Singleplayer maps" selected ..."
- Will be fixed, thanks)

"You get an "hole" when from the message box, is .."
- Thats indended, especially for wide screens. We dont want to stretch in whole width

"Arrow keys don't work for me on the lobby"
- How are they expected to work exactly?

"The game crashes continuously... This is the main problem."
- I hope you send us crash reports
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Ravior

Recruit

Posts: 30

Joined: 03 Apr 2013, 12:07

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:42

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Also found out:

- Peacetime cant be set anymore for coop games (which may have to be like that)
- gamespeed cant be set anymore for coop games (which is not okay)
<<

Siegfried

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 494

Joined: 24 Jul 2009, 22:00

Post 06 Apr 2013, 16:44

Re: Scripting demo release candidate

Krom wrote:"Arrow keys don't work for me on the lobby"
- How are they expected to work exactly?

You can select the next server in the list. At least this is how it works with r4179. In the RC it seems as if the nick-textbox is always selected.

Another strange thing that happened and where I can't provide a crash report:
we did a match on "Coastal Encounter Score" with 2 humans and 1 AI. One human lost all of his troops first. The moment his last fighter died, the server disconnected him.
Next

Return to Feedback / Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron