Page 2 of 3

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 11:43
by Esthlos
Rey wrote:Could you make it as a plain png file, without background? Similar to other buttons (could be found in GUI.rx after export from F11 menu).

Also it would be nice to have new thought cloud above retiring unit head. f.e. it could be bag on a stick, similar as it is on your button image.
Examples of thoughts are in Units.rx, from 3_6251.png to 3_6314.png

Is this good?

Preview (as gif):
Cloud.gif


Files:
Retire.zip

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 12:18
by Rey
Esthlos wrote:Is this good?


Thx, not bad for the start, but it could be better ;)

I added them into the game, small video: https://puu.sh/zh6I6/1c33afffa4.mp4

1. Its hard to recognize bag, its too small. Let's try to make it a bit bigger.
2. There is white rectangular around bag+stick. It should not be that big, mainly white background should be next to bad+stick image border, same as for other thoughts images.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 12:37
by HellFriend
Yeah thats look cool and practical :) good work all

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 13:26
by Esthlos
Rey wrote:2. There is white rectangular around bag+stick. It should not be not that big, mainly white background should be next to bad+stick image border, same as for other thoughts images.

I knew I had forgotten something! XD

Cloud2.gif


Retire2.zip

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 14:10
by Rey
Esthlos wrote:I knew I had forgotten something! XD

That's much better now, thank you!

https://puu.sh/zh9Az/e90a381d48.mp4

But the Dismiss button is too big IMO. What do you think?

Image

I suggest to use small button, similar to house gui buttons (repair/open/close etc) and put to the left from the condition bar, or to the left of the Task label ("Delivering" on the screenshot)

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 23:35
by Ben
It looks odd for sure. The location and design of the button just don't work as presented here. A smaller button under the condition bar might work. I'm also going to nitpick and say that you forgot the period after the second sentence: "He will go to the school and leave your town forever"

Also, the serf's right arm looks strange. It's very skinny; just doesn't match his other arm.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 23:48
by Esthlos
Ben wrote:It looks odd for sure. The location and design of the button just don't work as presented here. A smaller button under the condition bar might work.

Yeah, I don't like it either actually... tried moving it around, can't find a location that looks good.

What about making the portrait clickable instead?

KaM_Retired.png

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 23:49
by Ben
What's supposed to be happening in that image? I only see a missing part of the portrait.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2018, 23:52
by Esthlos
Ben wrote:What's supposed to be happening in that image? I only see a missing part of the portrait.

It's... folded? Rolled? Can't remember the word; the parchment is closed on itself.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2018, 00:59
by Ben
But why? What is the purpose of hiding the scroll?

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2018, 07:59
by Esthlos
Ben wrote:But why? What is the purpose of hiding the scroll?

So that the scroll can be the "retire" button: you click on it, the portrait closes and the unit walks to the School.
You click on it again, the portrait re-opens and the retire order is cancelled.

EDIT:
Rey wrote:I suggest to use small button, similar to house gui buttons (repair/open/close etc) and put to the left from the condition bar, or to the left of the Task label ("Delivering" on the screenshot)

Alternatively, maybe a button similarly-sized as the Build/Delivery/Stats/Options, to put below either Build or Options?
It wouldn't be very clear that it refers to the selected civilian, but it would look less clunky imo.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 06 Feb 2018, 15:04
by Ben
Esthlos wrote:
Ben wrote:But why? What is the purpose of hiding the scroll?

So that the scroll can be the "retire" button: you click on it, the portrait closes and the unit walks to the School.
You click on it again, the portrait re-opens and the retire order is cancelled.


Ahh that's what you mean. It makes sense now. Still, I don't prefer this. It's not exactly clear why closing the portrait would retire a citizen.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2018, 12:25
by Rey
Closing scroll is an interesting idea, but its not that obvious and its a new GUI "mechanic" in KMR, so I prefer something else.

Except something to activate dismiss action, we also need something to cancel it. Not sure if we need confirmation dialog then. May be ability to cancel the task is enought.

@Krom suggested to use simple checkbox, probably below condition bar or below task label.
Another option could be an house-style small button with an icon, icon max size is 28x28 then.

I prefer the second variant, as checkbox is usually used for some kind of state/option, not to activate some important action. But we will need a good bright icon there then on a small canvas size.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2018, 21:17
by Ben
Rey wrote:Another option could be an house-style small button with an icon, icon max size is 28x28 then.


I agree that this is the best of all proposed methods so far. I think it will fit in with the rest of the GUI theme.

Re: You cant kill Units, How about retraining them?

PostPosted: 10 Feb 2018, 03:23
by cdfbr
Rather then Retire, how about draft?

Send the People to the castle to take up arms to defend the king! No time for rest, we are at war!

Drafting them turns them either into recruits, Or make it so that it spawns a Peasant with a Pitchfork.

If the map setting is that you are on a Island, Surrounded with no where to go. Retire wont work. But Drafting would. At least for the Role Playing Value.