Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

<<

thunder

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 789

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 12:11

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 12 Aug 2017, 21:34

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Hi!

Shortly.
Idea:
Recording the beacons. So we could see what was pinged in the game.
<<

Rey

Scout

Posts: 143

Joined: 12 Oct 2016, 07:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 13 Aug 2017, 11:25

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

If somebody copy a link into the chat of the lobby, could that link transform an openable link


I've implemented text selecting from Memo's and Edit's (f.e. from chat/map description etc.), so you could easily copy/paste anything from there, including links. We discussed 'open extrenal links' feature and think it could be unsafe, or used not in a proper way. Copy-paste feature is good enought.

Recording the beacons. So we could see what was pinged in the game.

Sounds good for me.
Have just checked the code - all beacons are already recorded, so we block its visualisation when replaying the game. Probably it was done to avoid too many beacons while replaing, making replay looks better, 'cleaner'.

As a solution - we can add some checkbox to show them while replaing.

@Krom what do you think ?
Last edited by Rey on 13 Aug 2017, 11:49, edited 1 time in total.
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2116

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 13 Aug 2017, 11:38

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

What about a simple option in a menu or a key combination?
<<

Rey

Scout

Posts: 143

Joined: 12 Oct 2016, 07:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 13 Aug 2017, 12:24

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

What about a simple option in a menu or a key combination?

Key combination is possible, but AFAIK @Krom is not in favor of too many hotkeys. But for me its ok.

Simple option can be smth like that, fast sketch:

Image
<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3155

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 13 Aug 2017, 13:58

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

IMO there's no need to clutter the UI/hotkeys with that. Just record and always show the beacons would be fine.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

thunder

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 789

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 12:11

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 13 Aug 2017, 15:01

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Rey wrote:
What about a simple option in a menu or a key combination?

Key combination is possible, but AFAIK @Krom is not in favor of too many hotkeys. But for me its ok.

Simple option can be smth like that, fast sketch:

Image


I thought something like this alo. Enable/disable. So the sound is nice. Good to see who had the beacons in a battle etc... But sometime good if possible to disable because somebody just overused the beacon...etc.
<<

The Dark Lord

User avatar

King Karolus Servant

Posts: 2116

Joined: 29 Aug 2007, 22:00

Location: In his dark thunderstormy castle

KaM Skill Level: Veteran

Post 13 Aug 2017, 16:11

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Yes, beacon spam is a thing. Now imagine both teams doing it during a battle?
But who knows, maybe it's not that bad. It can be tested without button/keys and you can always decide later if it's necessary or not.
<<

Rey

Scout

Posts: 143

Joined: 12 Oct 2016, 07:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 14 Aug 2017, 08:07

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Simple option can be added to settings menu. Suggested by @Krom
<<

Rey

Scout

Posts: 143

Joined: 12 Oct 2016, 07:41

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 16 Aug 2017, 09:44

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Beacon feature was implemented and merged here
<<

Esthlos

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 622

Joined: 23 Jun 2013, 16:02

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 30 Aug 2017, 10:29

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Would it please be possible to have Storehouses start with every ware blocked by default when first built?

Don't know about you, but the first thing I do whenever the game starts or I decide to build a new storehouse is to block the delivery of every ware except a select few...
Just when you think you know something, you have to look at it in another way, even though it may seem silly or wrong. You must try! - John Keating, "Dead Poets Society"
<<

thunder

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 789

Joined: 15 Apr 2012, 12:11

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 30 Aug 2017, 11:15

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Esthlos wrote:Would it please be possible to have Storehouses start with every ware blocked by default when first built?

Don't know about you, but the first thing I do whenever the game starts or I decide to build a new storehouse is to block the delivery of every ware except a select few...


I think it is already about playstyle of the players. Some players are leaving the storehouse opened for the whole game and blocking only 1-2 wares. I jsut disselect half of the wares at the start. So there are many ways. If it would start with your offers then the players who not using this function would be mad :wink:
Anyway it is scriptable too if i know well. I'm using this function at the townhall script where immediately blocking the wares into the house.
Personaly don't think it very important. BUT,
Maybe an additional button to disselect all wares could solve this problem and could help to you and that group of players who use to disselect wares. Almost as like the closed stroehouse button but it would change only all the wares state.
I think this would be fair;) :)
<<

Esthlos

User avatar

Knight

Posts: 622

Joined: 23 Jun 2013, 16:02

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 30 Aug 2017, 11:22

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

thunder wrote:Maybe an additional button to disselect all wares could solve this problem

Yes, it would be a solution; but wouldn't it maybe be better to make it an "invert selection" button, so that if you click on it accidentally you can click again to revert the change?

Oh, another thing (can't remember if it was asked already): would it please be possible to add some sort of mark or icon to the mines' selection interface telling if the mine is exhausted or not?
I often decide to wait for exhausted mines to be emptied, then promptly forget which one was exhausted and should be destroyed...
Just when you think you know something, you have to look at it in another way, even though it may seem silly or wrong. You must try! - John Keating, "Dead Poets Society"
<<

Strangelove

User avatar

Crossbowman

Posts: 208

Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 06:32

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 30 Aug 2017, 15:56

Re: Official KaM Remake Ideas topic

Esthlos wrote:Oh, another thing (can't remember if it was asked already): would it please be possible to add some sort of mark or icon to the mines' selection interface telling if the mine is exhausted or not?
I often decide to wait for exhausted mines to be emptied, then promptly forget which one was exhausted and should be destroyed...

That would be very handy!
Love the Bomb!

Campaign viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1749
MultiplayerMaps viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2302
AutoComplete viewtopic.php?f=32&t=2722
Previous

Return to Ideas / Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest