Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3233

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 03 Aug 2010, 06:09

New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

So, I was thinking about new PC, but since I have little money I stopped on cheapest platform and later upgrading it in few steps.

Here's my idea - socket 1156 motherboard with built-in GPU and cheapest cpu. Then I could install a proper pci-e GPU and modern i5/i7 cpu and expand RAM.

I'm a loyal MSI fan, so my choice goes for H55-G43 motherboard. It's a big ATX and has 2 pci-e and 3 pci ports.
Cheapest compatible CPU would be Intel G6950.
RAM - 1gb from Patriot.

Everything else will migrate from my older PC (420wt PSU, hdd, SB Audigy).

So .. do you think it's a good idea for 230$ ?

EDIT: In my later plans are several 300$ upgrades:
1. GPU (something from 2xx series from nvidia)
2. CPU (something i5/i7)
3. SSD for system drive, 32gb
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

Juba

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 23:00

Location: Finland

Post 06 Aug 2010, 16:29

Once I was going to buy an SSD. Well, I asked for my friends & which SSD they'd recommend, and every time I was told to buy an Intel SSD because other SSD drives aren't so efficient. In the end I gave up after I figured out Xp doesn't support TRIM.

1 GB RAM sounds a little less for me but it's up to you.
<<

H.A.H.

Post 06 Aug 2010, 22:37

What are you planning to use it for? What do you definitely want to be installed?
<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3233

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 08 Aug 2010, 11:57

Okay, so I've bought myself a set of MB+CPU+RAM.

So far so good, it even handles more demanding games than my old PC, but 1gb ram is a huge break.. will need to upgrade it asap :)
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

H.A.H.

Post 09 Aug 2010, 13:22

Which OS is on it? And 32 or 64 bits version?

If you are planning on buying 4GB RAM, buy an set of 2x2GB. Those are from series, so they will work better together.
<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3233

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 09 Aug 2010, 13:51

I've installed WinXP SP3, 32bit obviously.

I plan to buy another 1gb from the same shop if they are still there (same model). If not - I'll wait t bit to buy faster 2x2gb set :)
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

H.A.H.

Post 09 Aug 2010, 23:21

Krom wrote:I've installed WinXP SP3, 32bit obviously.

I plan to buy another 1gb from the same shop if they are still there (same model). If not - I'll wait t bit to buy faster 2x2gb set :)


32 bits OS's can't handle more than 3GB Ram. That is why I wanted to know :wink:
<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3233

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 10 Aug 2010, 05:30

I think it's somewhere inbetween 3,25 or 3,64gb, still it's worth upgrading with 2x2 modules anyway :)

P.S. Quote from THG site:
Windows XP Pro can use up to 4GB of RAM, but when you first install all of it you will only see 3 GB. this is caused by one or both of the following;
1. There is a BIOS setting that uses a portion of the RAM ans a temp file backup solution, which can be disabled in the BIOS.
2. Add the /PAE switch to the boot.ini file, this will access the full 4GB, but will limit 2GB to the OS and 2GB to other programs. If you add the /3GB switch after the /PAE it will allocate 1GB RAM to the OS, and 3GB to all other apps.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

H.A.H.

Post 10 Aug 2010, 08:16

My laptop can't handle more than around 3.1 GB and my sister's only 2.9, so I wouldn't be so sure about that.
I know that there are workarounds to let the OS run on 1GB and then have 3GB left, but that is not as easy as it looks.
<<

grussell

Serf

Posts: 5

Joined: 05 Apr 2012, 01:55

Post 05 Apr 2012, 06:49

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

I am currently on a Late 2011 MacBook Pro with 13.3 inch of screen, 2.4ghz intel core i5, 8gb of ram and 500gb of hard disk. I am on a standard 512mb of onboard graphics which means that it is not enough to run the usual games I like on a PC.

This would have to suffice for the things I am on and currently do so I went with this notebook setup and package.

I wonder how the new ivy bridge processors would be different though.
<<

Krom

User avatar

KaM Remake Developer

Posts: 3233

Joined: 09 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Russia

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 05 Apr 2012, 08:18

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

@grussell: I fail to see how your comment fits on topic.

So far everything goes fine - since last post I had indeed installed NVidia GT250 GPU, added +1 and then half a year later +8 gb RAM (when it was really cheap), switched to x64bit Win 7 and on this weekend I will be installing i7-870 CPU with a huge Noctua twin 14cm cooler :)
Didn't managed to get an SSD mostly because of reliability issues reports in forums.
Knights Province at: http://www.knightsprovince.com
KaM Remake at: http://www.kamremake.com
Original MBWR/WR2/AFC/FVR tools at: http://krom.reveur.de
<<

kocsis1david

Crossbowman

Posts: 202

Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 23:00

Location: Hungary

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 11 May 2012, 17:49

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

To a 60 GB Kingston SSD max. 40 TB can be written. If You write about 10 GB per day it's usable for 10 years. You also have to take into account that Windows writes extra data and it can only write 512 KB at a time without TRIM command that needs motherboard, os support, etc. I've read a long article about optimizing SSDs, it's not an easy thing, amost double performance can be achived, and it says currently the worries are baseless unless you buy something junk.

I'll have a new in about year computer and my plan is to buy a SSD and use my existing 160 GB inner and 750 GB outside HDD as they are very expensive nowdays. I want a CPU with AVX2 support in case I implement AVX2 code generation for my compiler, 1×4GB DDR3 RAM, and a motherboard that supports UEFI. I don't like NVidia cards, a lot of them died unlike AMD's. I read in forums that NVidia cards can be overheated more easily. Firstly I would use the IGP or my current HD 5670, and later buy a HD 7770 or something like it. Crysis 3 would run on it without doubt.

I can't understand why a lot of people stick to Windows XP. I used Vista when it came out, and found it better than XP. And than reinstalled it to Windows 7. But i'm not sure i'll use Windows 8. It'd make my pc a giant cell phone, but i'm afraid only this will support AVX2.
<<

pawel95

User avatar

Castle Guard Swordsman

Posts: 1911

Joined: 03 Oct 2008, 22:00

Location: "Pawel95" on Youtube.com

KaM Skill Level: Skilled

Post 09 Apr 2013, 19:26

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

About RAM. Do you have bought it already? Why I´m asking? Because I built my pc with 4 gb ram 2,5 years ago. The price for 4 gb was like 100 €. Now the price for RAM (in middle europe,maybe also in russia) nearly "crashed" :mrgreen: I just bought 2 weeks ago +8 Gb Ram for like 25 €, thats like nothing :D So when you need RAM, its the best time now (I am talking about DDR3, DDR2 should be cheaper anyway)
<<

dicsoupcan

Moorbach's Guard

Posts: 1314

Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 21:36

KaM Skill Level: Fair

Post 09 Apr 2013, 19:27

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

pssst pawel , take a look at the date of the last poster
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. ~ Winston Churchill
<<

Ben

User avatar

Prince Lothar

Posts: 3801

Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 23:00

Location: United States of America GMT-5 (Standard Time)

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 09 Apr 2013, 21:03

Re: New minimum-cost upgrade-able PC

Hehe
#thunderposting #greentornado
Next

Return to Computers & Technology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest