Map Database  •  FAQ  •  RSS  •  Register  •  Login

Hey guys

<<

Wpnfire

Lance Carrier

Posts: 63

Joined: 25 Jun 2008, 22:00

Location: America, heartland

Post 14 Jul 2008, 00:16

Floppy discs? That's going way back. Just threw some of those out recently.
<<

Merchator

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 16 Aug 2008, 19:49

Let's keep this topic alive :D

I have upgraded my PC about 1~2 months ago and I am quite happy about that. I don't have a high-end PC, but at least I can play every game out there.

CPU: Intel E8500 3,16 GHz
RAM: 2 GB KingstonRAM (1066 MHz)
Graphic card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT 512MB
Mainboard: Gigabyte-EP35
Sound: Sound OnBoard (thats enough for me)
HDD: 1x160GB (on this one Windows is running) 1x200GB (for games, pictures, backups and such stuff)
OS: Windows XP SP3 (I don't want Vista, I just want DirectX 10.0 :D )

Oh, and I just changed my case (it's simply black/silver now).
<<

harold

Knight

Posts: 562

Joined: 19 Nov 2007, 23:00

Post 16 Aug 2008, 20:00

Cool :D
I heard some horror stories about SP3 going into infini-reboot and things like that, you don't have trouble with that I hope?
<<

Merchator

User avatar

Sword Fighter

Posts: 336

Joined: 27 Dec 2006, 23:00

Location: Germany

Post 16 Aug 2008, 20:12

No, works fine so far. Never had problems with SP3 till now :wink:
I heard from DirectX 10.0 for XP, but the feedback wasn't very good at all. Games which are supporting DirectX 10.0 didn't run anymore.
I just don't want to pay money for a new OS which has more bugs than needed. But honestly, the Aero-Design looks really good! (I already changed my XP-Style to Black/Blue, and so far I am happy with it.)
<<

Juba

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 23:00

Location: Finland

Post 20 Feb 2009, 14:39

I shall rescue this topic.

I bought my computer at 2007 november, and I've just changed the case about two weeks ago. This is excellent for little bit older games and all kinds of basic use, like browsing the net.

Case: Antec Sonata III with Earthwatts 500 W power supply.
Motherboard: ASUS P5GC-VM (not good)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.40 GHz
RAM: 4x 512MB = 2GB Kingston DDR2 667 MHz (cause my bad motherboard, it works with 333 MHz)
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 SE/7200 GS, 256MB
Hard drive: WD Caviar SE 250GB, 7200 RPM, 8 MB, SATA (I got two of these: in the firs contains Xp and the second is for Windows 7 Beta)
CD/DVD drive: LITE-ON DVD-RW LH-20A1S, 48x, SATA

OS: Microsoft Windows Xp Professional Service Pack 3 (SP3 rocks)

I got a foppy disk drive too, but I don't know which one. And I can't check it because it's not in use. (It caused some problems with playing TSK.)

Finally, I have two displays, ACER 20" AL2016W and ViewSonic 19" VA902.
<<

Litude

User avatar

King Karolus

Posts: 1231

Joined: 01 May 2006, 22:00

Location: Finland

Post 21 Feb 2009, 02:40

Heh, floppy drives are far from dead. I wouldn't dare purchasing a comupter without one, good knows when you need to access some old stuff/games you have lying around on a floppy. :D

Well, my computer is holding up quite well without upgrading, but I have to say my first expeirence with cases that have this front door has been far from optimal.
Had been using it for about three weeks when my power button suddenly became loose. It's magnetic and is one of the three magnets keeping the door shut and now it sticks to the door each time I open it. Not enough with that, another of the magnets holding the door shut decided to break free from the case and now it's only being kept shut with a single magnet :lol:.
Yeah, some duct tape could fix it :wink:, but I'd expect better quality from Antec.
<<

Juba

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 23:00

Location: Finland

Post 21 Feb 2009, 10:23

Your right about the floppy drives, I think they're important.

I really like about the front door in Sonata III. There's no magnets, and that lock system was new thing to me.

Btw, I really, REALLY hate Vista. It sucks in everything except DirectX 10. I'll stay with Xp as long as I can, and then I upgrade straight to Windows 7. But I surely save some kind of computer with Xp so I can play KaM and other old games. With DOSBox and other brilliant stuff Xp has very long lifespan, and you'll get updates to Xp still seven years.

Xp rocks.
<<

harold

Knight

Posts: 562

Joined: 19 Nov 2007, 23:00

Post 21 Feb 2009, 23:06

Juba wrote:I'll stay with Xp as long as I can

That is until May 28 60056 (that's right, the year sixty thousand fifty six), when the dates on files will overflow.
Unless XP has a build-in selfdestruct mechanism that Microsoft will trigger with an update somewhere in 2015 to make you buy Windows 7 (or perhaps windows 8 by that time?)

Just to be sure, I'd turn Automatic Updates off and download them manually so you actually get to choose which ones you (don't) want.
<<

Nick

Crossbowman

Posts: 240

Joined: 09 Jan 2007, 23:00

Post 23 Feb 2009, 00:16

well i went to OSX :) and I will stay with OSX!
<<

Juba

User avatar

Barbarian

Posts: 104

Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 23:00

Location: Finland

Post 23 Feb 2009, 07:55

harold wrote:
Juba wrote:I'll stay with Xp as long as I can

That is until May 28 60056 (that's right, the year sixty thousand fifty six), when the dates on files will overflow.
Unless XP has a build-in selfdestruct mechanism that Microsoft will trigger with an update somewhere in 2015 to make you buy Windows 7 (or perhaps windows 8 by that time?)

Just to be sure, I'd turn Automatic Updates off and download them manually so you actually get to choose which ones you (don't) want.

I've set my automatic updates only to notify me for new updates, I choose what I download/install. I think your scene is little bit unrealistic, not even Microsoft could be so greedy (I guess). Thanks for the warning. :P
<<

Thunderwolf

User avatar

Crossbowman

Posts: 233

Joined: 22 Jan 2008, 23:00

Location: Netherlands

Post 16 Mar 2009, 13:01

And I have a NEW laptop (hope this one doesn't get broken every 3 months)


HP Pavilion DV5-1160ed
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 (2.0GHz, 1066MHz, 3MB) (Cheapest Penryn)
RAM: 4096 MB DDR2-800 RAM
Hard Disk: 320 GB 5400rpm
Graphics: nVidia GeForce 9600M-GT (512 Dedicated, up to 1789 total) (well, 512 dedicated...)
ODD: DVD+/-RW DL + Lightscribe (no blu-ray)
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit (BAADDD!!!)

Costs: ?849,-

Sadly, this one's graphics no longer support 256 colors.
List of software:
Knights and Merchants: The Peasants Rebellion(SR2): - only runs in VMWare(XP)
KM_Editor (0.5g): DOESN'T RUN DECENTLY (2.8fps max.) IN EITHER Vista OR VMWare, even with new drivers
KM_EDIT (tested 0.8.5): Runs on both (at least well enough to be used)
KaM MissionBuilder: Runs ONLY on Vista. VM's graphics are to slow to keep up.
GameMaker v7(to make missionbuilder): Runs on both, but gets recognized as SUSPICIOUS by Vista + Antivirus (prevents running unless antivirus is shut down)
~old sig
MissionBuilder v0.9f2 UPDATED!!
Defend The Outer Colony. fight for your king and uncover the secrets of this land.
Temporary version at
http://thunderwolf.x10hosting.com/index.php
"You can't defeat me, I've played Knights and Merchants"
<<

harold

Knight

Posts: 562

Joined: 19 Nov 2007, 23:00

Post 16 Mar 2009, 13:48

A pity it's a laptop, it's often very hard to change the OS (driver problems)
Bit of a shame of the 4GB ram really..
<<

T*AnTi-V!RuZz

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 1832

Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 23:00

Location: The Netherlands

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 16 Mar 2009, 22:31

harold wrote:A pity it's a laptop, it's often very hard to change the OS (driver problems)
Bit of a shame of the 4GB ram really..


BS..
<<

harold

Knight

Posts: 562

Joined: 19 Nov 2007, 23:00

Post 16 Mar 2009, 22:34

Hell no, it's a damn shame. Part of it will be unused, how is that not a shame?
<<

T*AnTi-V!RuZz

User avatar

Former Site Admin

Posts: 1832

Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 23:00

Location: The Netherlands

KaM Skill Level: Beginner

Post 16 Mar 2009, 22:51

Edit: Oops.. :oops:

Forgot it has to be x64 for full use of 4GB Ram..
Thought Vista x86 also did.. :P

My mistake! :wink:

But still,
it's no shame.

Windows XP doesn't use more than 2GB tops practically (even if it can use more)..
Windows Vista DOES use all of the 3,***GB Ram :wink:
PreviousNext

Return to Computers & Technology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest